Age-Friendly DC

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Age-Friendly DC Task Force

The Age-Friendly DC Task Force met October 29 to compare notes on progress in the fiscal year just completed September 30, 2019. Notes from the meeting will be posted here November 6, 2019.

View the Tuesday, October 29 Meeting Meeting Notes[PDF]



In December 2017 the 2012-2017 Age-Friendly DC Task Force concluded its work.

John Beard, WHO's director of Ageing and Life Course from Geneva, Switzerland, traveled here to attend the November 2017 meeting of the Task Force and to present a plaque to Mayor Muriel Bowser, which reads, "Washington DC was recognized for its leadership and achievement  during he 5-year process as an Age-Friendly Community, ensuring that Washington, DC is a livable community for all people of all ages". 

In February 2018 Mayor Muriel Bowser is signed the Age-Friendly DC 2018-2023 Establishment Order setting inotion the second five-year journey. The new Task Force appointed by the Mayor held its launch meeting on Thursday, March 22, 2018 at AARP-DC.

The next Age-Friendly DC Task Force meeting is Tuesday, October 29, 1:30-3:30 pm, 441 4th Street, NW, 11th floor conference room.

Forging Ahead

Members of the 2018-2023 Age-Friendly DC Task Force are listed below. The Age-Friendly DC 2023 Strategic Plan, released by Mayor Bowser in October 2018, was based on Task Force recommendations.


2018-2023 Age-Friendly DC Task Force
Rayna Smith* Chief of Staff Deputy Mayor for Health and Human Services
Kim Alfonso* Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind
Andrew Trueblood DC Office of Planning
Jeffrey Marootian District Department of Transportation
Polly Donaldson Department of Housing and Community Development
Dr. Katrina Polk Enterprise Community Partners
Aurora Steinle Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
Jeanne Locher Mayor's Office of Community Affairs
Ron Swanda Advocate for Older Adults 
Matthew McCollough Office of Disability Rights
Judge (ret.) Mary Terrell Department of Employment Services
Romaine Thomas DC Retired Educators of America 
Lindsey Parker Office of the Chief Technology Officer
Susan Donley Stria
Laura Newland DC Office on Aging
Dr. Sandra Owens Lawson Behvioral Programs Consultant
Michelle Venemann Deputy Mayor for Public Safety and Justice
Linda Mathes American Red Cross of the National Capital Region
Susan Saunders McKenzie DC Attorney
Laura Zeilinger Department of Human Services
Winona Lake AARP-DC
Gail Gibson Hunt National Alliance for Caregiving
Denise Roper IRS
Delano Hunter DPR
Brian Kenner Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development
Ashley Emerson Office of African Affairs

* Co-chairs of the Task Force

Task Force-approved notes from previous Task Force meetings are attached.