Age-Friendly DC

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share


Progress toward the Age-friendly City goal

 WHO's graphic [PDF] illustrates the process.

Cycle of WHO Global Network of Age Friendly Cities

The "Cycle of WHO Global Nework of Age-friendly Cities©" includes:


The goal for years 1 and 2 are to:

  1. involve older people
  2. assess the age-friendliness
  3. develop a action plan, and 
  4. identify indicators 


For years 3 through 5, the goal is to: 

  1. Implement an action plan, and
  2. monitor indicators

Evalutate progress

After year 5, the goal is to evaluate the city's progress, including:

  1. measure progress
  2. identify successes and remaining gaps
  3. sumbit a progress report

Continual Improvement

  1. The program maintains a 5-year member cycle



An individual’s quality of life can be influenced by many things: health, the environment, transportation, and social activity, to name just a few. WHO identified eight categories of influence and the District added two, bringing Age-Friendly DC’s to 10. The categories are referred to as domains.

The 10 domains will help those involved with Age-Friendly DC to plan, implement, monitor and evaluate and improve. Simply, the domains provide the focus needed to achieve and maintain progress toward the Age-Friendly City goal.

The domains the District is implementing are:

  1. Outdoor Spaces and Buildings — accessibility to and availability of safe recreational facilities.

  2. Transportation — safe and affordable modes of private and public transportation.

  3. Housing — wide range of housing options for older residents, aging in place and other home modification programs.

  4. Social Participation — access to leisure and cultural activities and opportunities for older residents to participate in social and civic engagement with their peers and younger people.

  5. Respect and Social Inclusion — programs to support and promote ethnic and cultural diversity, along with programs to encourage multigenerational interaction and dialogue.

  6. Civic Participation and Employment — promotion of paid work and volunteer activities for older residents and opportunities to engage in formulation of policies relevant to their lives.

  7. Communication and Information — promotion of and access to the use of technology to keep older residents connected to their community and friends and family, both near and far.

  8. Community Support and Health Services — access to homecare services, clinics and programs to promote wellness and active aging.

  9. Emergency Preparedness and Resilience — information, education and training to ensure the safety, wellness and readiness of seniors in emergency situations. (District-specific)

  10. Elder Abuse, Neglect and Fraud — prevention and prosecution of financial exploitation, neglect, and physical, sexual and emotional abuse of seniors. (District-specific)

The domains and other basic information are available by accessing the link below. That information is in Amharic (አማርኛ), Chinese (中文), French (Français), Spanish (Español) and Vietnamese (Tiếng Việt).